The town of Brewster is known as "The Sea Captain's Town," due to its rich seafaring history and elegant homes built in the 1800's by wealthy sea captains, who chose this scenic bayside town as their home. Brewster was named after Elder William Brewster, one of the original pilgrims aboard the Mayflower, and was settled in 1659 as part of Harwich. Brewster officially separated from Harwich in 1803.
In the late 1600’s business in Brewster grew to meet the needs of the sea captains and their families. The grist mill (the original one was across the street from Stony Brook Grist Mill pictures) was at the center of commerce. A fulling mill, where wool fabric was pre-shrunk, a carding mill, and shops offering dry goods, provided local jobs and a place to sell goods brought in by ship.
Today, Brewster’s businesses continue to meet the needs of those who live and visit, providing a full array of goods and services, and culture and recreation. Sea captains’ homes are now elegant inns and restaurants; fine art and antiques galleries; and professional offices, museums and theatres.
Brewster offers everything from family camping to luxury spas; fried clam rolls to world class gourmet cuisine; souvenir trinkets to fine art and classic antiques. For recreation, there are museums that explore nature and history; award winning live theatre; a state park with bicycle and walking trails; over 800 acres of conservation lands; 15 fresh-water ponds; and seven public beaches along Cape Cod Bay.
Visit www.BrewsterHistoricalSociety.org to learn more.